Slider
Slider

Envisioning the future together

The Ruhr region epitomizes innovation: nowhere else in Europe is there a greater density of large international corporations, leading SMEs and institutes pursuing scientific research.

The Industrial Innovation Excellence Cluster (SPIN) derives its power from the strengths of the Ruhr region. In an age where speed is the primary factor for the success of industrial innovations, this platform forges new alliances between industry, digital technology and applied research. The aim is to develop solutions for industrial applications, rapidly implement these and export them around the world across sector and industry boundaries.

SPIN innovation cluster focuses on the development of technologies, processes and products for CO-neutral energy systems and the digital transformation in the field of industry. To this end, its partners are able to rely on the industrial expertise of complementary sectors. For example, the innovation cluster, which is supported by the Ministry for Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitalization and Energy of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, unites knowledge from the energy business and energy-intensive industry and links it to professional expertise from academia. The project partners also include experts in the field of industrial digitalization. They utilize the wealth of datasets available from production firms to develop project-specific algorithms and artificial intelligences.

Thanks to the accelerated development of energy transformation technologies, the large corporations, small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), start-ups and research institutes involved in the innovation cluster are able to make an important contribution to meeting the Paris climate targets and together they are driving industrial digitization forward. By sharing both knowledge and development risks, the partners strengthen the region’s industrial core while keeping jobs and value creation in the Ruhr region.

The future is diverse – and so are our projects

Be it power-to-X technologies, thermal storage, AI-based facility monitoring, machine learning or automated language processing, the Industrial Innovation Excellence Cluster unites industrial know-how with digital technology. And all of its activities are focused on reaching the test phase quickly.

The biogas
business model

#Digitalization

Biogas facilities are key components of the energy transformation. But can they actually be profitable without state subsidies? We analyze new business models for facility operators and use digital technologies to bring players throughout the value chain closer together.

Keeping the
current flowing

#Digitalization

Even as cities grow smarter, significant components of electrical power supply systems remain largely analogue. These include the low-voltage distribution networks. To ensure that their operators can benefit from the advantages of digitalization in future, we are working to develop existing IoT infrastructures and intelligent sensors to precisely suit new requirements.

AI for power plants

#Digitalization

The energy transformation means that conventional power plants have to be able to react flexibly to fluctuations in power inputs. We are using extensive sets of operating data to develop a cloud-based platform whose capabilities include providing real-time information on capacity utilization and facility status.

Products from
renewable energy

#Decarbonization

As renewable energy accounts for an ever-greater share of the electricity mix, it becomes ever more important to efficiently store excess electricity. We are establishing an open testing platform for power-to-X technologies and are conducting tests that include converting renewable power into basic chemical substances.

Storage for
the energy
transformation

#Decarbonization

Battery Energy Storage Systems (BESS) are used to compensate for fluctuations in the power supply. However, the complex structure characteristic of the storage media results in high levels of power loss during transmission and renders systems susceptible to malfunctions. We develop a new high-voltage battery storage system that is able to overcome these disadvantages.

Industry 4.0
goes SME

#Digitalization

To fully digitalize production processes, it is necessary to network all manner of systems and integrate these into an overarching IT environment. This is a task that poses tremendous challenges for SMEs in particular. Now we are providing them with a newly developed universal IoT platform.

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

The characteristics of the Ruhr metropolitan region mean that it is practically predestined to play a leading role in future technologies worldwide. SPIN industrial innovation cluster will help this region develop into a prime location for modern, internationally competitive and climate-friendly technologies and solutions. By supporting this cluster, our state government is fulfilling its responsibility to help companies transform themselves and improve their readiness for change.

Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart, Minister for Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitalization and Energy of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

The Ruhr region is one of Germany’s most active areas for new companies, and start-ups based here generate approx. two-thirds of their turnover in the B2B sector. This is well above the average for Germany as a whole. The entrepreneurs’ expertise is particularly strong in the field of digitalization, something that does more than simply benefit collaborative efforts in the industrial innovation cluster: as SPIN members, start-ups also have the opportunity to pursue the targeted implementation of their innovative approaches.

Oliver Weimann, Managing Director of Ruhr:Hub GmbH

In the innovation cluster, businesspeople and researchers work together to drive industrial innovations in the Ruhr region, such as in the fields of environmental technology, energy technology and systems engineering. A spirit of innovation is already evident in the initial pilot projects. It is a source of motivation, and we look forward to welcoming additional organizations who will enrich our work with valuable expertise from a variety of disciplines.

Prof. Dr. -Ing. Görge Deerberg, Deputy Director and Division Director Processes, Fraunhofer-Institute for Environmental, Safety and Energy Technology UMSICHT

As the innovators and drivers of innovations, some 700,000 small- and medium-sized enterprises constitute the economic backbone of North Rhine-Westphalia. We welcome all technology-oriented hidden champions and start-ups from the Ruhr region to bring their know-how for tomorrow’s energy systems to SPIN industrial innovation cluster and help develop practical solutions for the industrial transformation.

Jürgen Schnitzmeier, Managing Director of ZENIT GmbH (Center for Innovation and Technology in North Rhine-Westphalia)

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

The characteristics of the Ruhr metropolitan region mean that it is practically predestined to play a leading role in future technologies worldwide. SPIN industrial innovation cluster will help this region develop into a prime location for modern, internationally competitive and climate-friendly technologies and solutions. By supporting this cluster, our state government is fulfilling its responsibility to help companies transform themselves and improve their readiness for change.

Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart, Minister for Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitalization and Energy of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

The Ruhr region is one of Germany’s most active areas for new companies, and start-ups based here generate approx. two-thirds of their turnover in the B2B sector. This is well above the average for Germany as a whole. The entrepreneurs’ expertise is particularly strong in the field of digitalization, something that does more than simply benefit collaborative efforts in the industrial innovation cluster: as SPIN members, start-ups also have the opportunity to pursue the targeted implementation of their innovative approaches.

Oliver Weimann, Managing Director of Ruhr:Hub GmbH

In the innovation cluster, businesspeople and researchers work together to drive industrial innovations in the Ruhr region, such as in the fields of environmental technology, energy technology and systems engineering. A spirit of innovation is already evident in the initial pilot projects. It is a source of motivation, and we look forward to welcoming additional organizations who will enrich our work with valuable expertise from a variety of disciplines.

Prof. Dr. -Ing. Görge Deerberg, Deputy Director and Division Director Processes, Fraunhofer UMSICHT

As the innovators and drivers of innovations, some 700,000 small- and medium-sized enterprises constitute the economic backbone of North Rhine-Westphalia. We welcome all technology-oriented hidden champions and start-ups from the Ruhr region to bring their know-how for tomorrow’s energy systems to SPIN industrial innovation cluster and help develop practical solutions for the industrial transformation.

Jürgen Schnitzmeier, Managing Director of ZENIT GmbH (Center for Innovation and Technology in North Rhine-Westphalia)

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Participating partners

Participating partners

Companies

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Research and project partners

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Contact

If you have any questions,
simply contact us!

Our platform is open to interested corporations, SMEs, start-ups and research institutes from the Ruhr region. Join us and we will work together to implement pioneering projects for the future!

CEO SPIN

Thomas Bagus

info(at)spin.ruhr

 

CEO Ruhr:Hub GmbH

SUPPORTED BY:

Ministry for Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitalization and Energy
of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

SUPPORTED BY:

Ministry for Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitalization and Energy of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

NRW_W_CMYK@2x
2019 – IMPRINT / GDPR

Seite wählen
Slider
Slider

Zukunft gemeinsam denken

Das Ruhrgebiet steht für Innovationskraft: Nirgendwo in Europa ist die Dichte an internationalen Großkonzernen, führenden Mittelständlern und wissenschaftlicher Forschung höher.

Das Spitzencluster Industrielle Innovationen (kurz: SPIN) nutzt die Stärke der Metropole Ruhr. In einer Zeit, in der vor allem Schnelligkeit über den Erfolg industrieller Innovationen bestimmt, schafft die Plattform neue Allianzen aus Industrie, Digitaltechnologie und anwendungsbezogener Forschung. Ziel ist es, über Sektoren und Branchen hinweg Lösungen für industrielle Anwendungen zu entwickeln, schnell zu implementieren und in die Welt zu exportieren.

Ein Fokus des Spitzenclusters liegt auf der Entwicklung von Technologien, Verfahren und Produkten für ein CO₂-neutrales Energiesystem. Die Partner greifen dazu auf das industrielle Know-how komplementärer Branchen zurück. So bringt das vom nordrhein-westfälischen Wirtschaftsministerium geförderte Spitzencluster beispielsweise Wissen aus der Energiewirtschaft und der energieintensiven Industrie zusammen und verknüpft es mit Fachkompetenzen aus der Wissenschaft. Zu den Projektpartnern zählen zudem Experten industrieller Digitalisierung. Sie nutzen die im großen Stil vorhandenen Datensätze der produzierenden Unternehmen, um projektbezogene Algorithmen und künstliche Intelligenzen zu erarbeiten.

Dank der beschleunigten Entwicklung von Energiewendetechnologien leisten die am Spitzencluster beteiligten Konzerne, kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU), Start-ups sowie Forschungseinrichtungen einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Einhaltung der Pariser Klimaziele und treiben gemeinsam die industrielle Digitalisierung voran. Indem sie Wissen, aber auch Entwicklungsrisiken teilen, stärken die Partner den industriellen Kern der Region und halten sowohl Wertschöpfung als auch Arbeitsplätze im Ruhrgebiet.

Die Zukunft ist vielseitig: Unsere Projekte auch

Von Power-to-X-Technologien und Hochspannungsbatteriespeichern über KI-basiertes Anlagen-Monitoring bis hin zu maschinellem Lernen und automatisierter Sprachverarbeitung: Das Spitzencluster Industrielle Innovationen vereint industrielles Know-how und Digitaltechnologie. Im Fokus aller Vorhaben steht das Ziel, schnell in die Testphase zu gelangen.

Business Modell
Biogas

#Digitalisierung

Biogasanlagen sind ein zentraler Bestandteil der Energiewende. Aber sind sie auch ohne staatliche Förderung wirtschaftlich? Wir prüfen neue Geschäftsmodelle für Anlagenbetreiber und lassen die Akteure entlang der Wertschöpfungskette über Digitaltechnologien enger zusammenrücken.

Strom im Fluss

#Digitalisierung

Während Städte zunehmend smarter werden, sind Teile der Energieversorgung noch immer weitestgehend analog. Dazu zählen die Niederspannungsverteilnetze. Damit deren Betreiber künftig von den Vorteilen der Digitalisierung profitieren, entwickeln wir vorhandene IoT-Infrastrukturen und intelligente Sensorik passgenau weiter.

KI fürs Kraftwerk

#Digitalisierung

Konventionelle Kraftwerke müssen im Zuge der Energiewende in der Lage sein, flexibel auf Einspeiseschwankungen zu reagieren. Auf der Basis umfangreicher Betriebsdaten-Sets entwickeln wir eine cloudbasierte Plattform, die unter anderem Echtzeit-Informationen über Auslastung und Anlagenzustand bereitstellt.

Produkte aus
Grünstrom

#Dekarbonisierung

Je höher der Anteil an erneuerbaren Energien im Strommix, desto wichtiger wird es, überschüssigen Strom effizient zu speichern. Wir etablieren eine offene Versuchsplattform für sogenannte Power-to-X-Technologien und testen unter anderem, wie sich grüner Strom zu chemischen Grundstoffen umwandeln lässt.

Speicher für die
Energiewende

#Dekarbonisierung

Batterie-Energie-Speicher-Systeme (BESS) gleichen Stromschwankungen aus. Allerdings führt der komplexe Aufbau der aktuellen Speicher-Generation zu hohen Stromleitungsverlusten und Fehleranfälligkeiten. Unser Ziel ist es, einen neuen Hochspannungsbatterie-speicher zu entwickeln, der diese Nachteile überwindet.

Industrie 4.0
goes KMU

#Digitalisierung

Um Produktionsprozesse vollständig zu digitalisieren, müssen verschiedenste Anlagen vernetzt und in eine übergeordnete IT-Umgebung eingebunden werden. Diese Aufgabe stellt insbesondere mittelständische Unternehmen vor Herausforderungen. Ihnen stellen wir eine neu entwickelte universelle IIoT-Plattform zur Verfügung.

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Die außergewöhnliche Nähe von entwicklungsstarken Unternehmen und der regionenspezifische Mix komplementärer Branchen bergen große Innovationschancen. Das nun unter dem Motto ‘Zukunft gemeinsam denken’ gestartete Spitzencluster bündelt diese Potenziale, um Innovationen zu beschleunigen, die Transformation der Industrie und des Energiesystems voranzutreiben und den industriellen Kern sowie Wertschöpfung und Arbeitsplätze im Ruhrgebiet zu stärken.

Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart, Minister für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

Das Ruhrgebiet gehört zu den dynamischsten Gründungsregionen in Deutschland. Die hier ansässigen Start-ups machen etwa Dreiviertel ihres Umsatzes im B2B-Sektor. Damit liegen sie klar über dem Bundesdurchschnitt. Das Spezialwissen der Gründerinnen und Gründer liegt insbesondere im Bereich der Digitalisierung. Es kommt nicht nur der Zusammenarbeit im Spitzencluster zugute: Als Mitglieder erhalten Start-ups etwa die Chance, ihre innovativen Ansätze zielgerichtet umzusetzen.

Oliver Weimann, Geschäftsführer Ruhr:Hub GmbH

Im Spitzencluster arbeiten Unternehmer und Forscher gemeinsam daran, industrielle Innovationen aus dem Ruhrgebiet voranzutreiben, etwa in den Bereichen Umwelttechnologie, Energie- und Anlagentechnik. Schon in den ersten Pilotprojekten ist der Innovationsgeist spürbar. Das motiviert, und wir freuen uns auf weitere Organisationen, die unsere Arbeit mit wertvollem Wissen aus verschiedenen Disziplinen bereichern.

Prof. Dr. -Ing. Görge Deerberg, stellv. Institutsleiter und Bereichsleiter Prozesse Fraunhofer-Institut für Umwelt-, Sicherheits- und
Energietechnik UMSICHT

Als Erfinder und Treiber von Innovationen bilden rund 700.000 kleine und mittlere Unternehmen das Rückgrat der Wirtschaft in NRW. Technologieorientierte Hidden Champions und Start-ups aus dem Ruhrgebiet sind herzlich eingeladen, ihr Know-how für die Energiesysteme der Zukunft in das Spitzencluster einzubringen und praxisorientierte Lösungen zur Transformation der Industrie zu entwickeln.

Jürgen Schnitzmeier, Geschäftsführer ZENIT GmbH (Zentrum für Innovation und Technik in NRW)

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Die außergewöhnliche Nähe von entwicklungsstarken Unternehmen und der regionenspezifische Mix komplementärer Branchen bergen große Innovationschancen. Das nun unter dem Motto ‘Zukunft gemeinsam denken’ gestartete Spitzencluster bündelt diese Potenziale, um Innovationen zu beschleunigen, die Transformation der Industrie und des Energiesystems voranzutreiben und den industriellen Kern sowie Wertschöpfung und Arbeitsplätze im Ruhrgebiet zu stärken.

Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart, Minister für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

Das Ruhrgebiet gehört zu den dynamischsten Gründungsregionen in Deutschland. Die hier ansässigen Start-ups machen etwa Dreiviertel ihres Umsatzes im B2B-Sektor. Damit liegen sie klar über dem Bundesdurchschnitt. Das Spezialwissen der Gründerinnen und Gründer liegt insbesondere im Bereich der Digitalisierung. Es kommt nicht nur der Zusammenarbeit im Spitzencluster zugute: Als Mitglieder erhalten Start-ups etwa die Chance, ihre innovativen Ansätze zielgerichtet umzusetzen.

Oliver Weimann, Geschäftsführer Ruhr:Hub GmbH

Im Spitzencluster arbeiten Unternehmer und Forscher gemeinsam daran, industrielle Innovationen aus dem Ruhrgebiet voranzutreiben, etwa in den Bereichen Umwelttechnologie, Energie- und Anlagentechnik. Schon in den ersten Pilotprojekten ist der Innovationsgeist spürbar. Das motiviert, und wir freuen uns auf weitere Organisationen, die unsere Arbeit mit wertvollem Wissen aus verschiedenen Disziplinen bereichern.

Prof. Dr. -Ing. Görge Deerberg, stellv. Institutsleiter und Bereichsleiter Prozesse Fraunhofer UMSICHT

Als Erfinder und Treiber von Innovationen bilden rund 700.000 kleine und mittlere Unternehmen das Rückgrat der Wirtschaft in NRW. Technologieorientierte Hidden Champions und Start-ups aus dem Ruhrgebiet sind herzlich eingeladen, ihr Know-how für die Energiesysteme der Zukunft in das Spitzencluster einzubringen und praxisorientierte Lösungen zur Transformation der Industrie zu entwickeln.

Jürgen Schnitzmeier, Geschäftsführer ZENIT GmbH (Zentrum für Innovation und Technik in NRW)

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Beteiligte Partner

Beteiligte Partner

Unternehmen

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Forschungs- und Projektpartner

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen?
Sprechen Sie uns an!

Interessierten Konzernen, KMU, Start-ups und Forschungseinrichtungen aus dem Ruhrgebiet steht unsere Plattform offen. Kommen Sie gern auf uns zu und setzen Sie gemeinsam mit uns zukunftsweisende Projekte um!

Vorstandsvorsitzender SPIN

Thomas Bagus

info(at)spin.ruhr

 

Geschäftsführer Ruhr:Hub GmbH

GEFÖRDERT DURCH:

Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie
des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

GEFÖRDERT DURCH:

Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

NRW_W_CMYK@2x
2019 – IMPRESSUM / DSGVO